My new colt is here!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Viki

Reaction score
And it's a really sad situation. He is about 10 months old and around 50 lbs and about 24" tall. He has the will to eat & live and that's a big plus. I wont post pictures of him at this point. It's just too sad. I'm in contact with my vet and following his instructions and he will be here Friday to check the colts progress. He's quickly turned into the neighborhood project. I have REALLY knowledgeable friends (Reflections & Redrock) to help and advise me. I tell you, it's been many a year since I've seen a horse in this bad of shape and still alive!

I've got some experience with starving horses, but one so young is new for me.

The first 30 days will be the hardest for him. He will be beautiful and healthy again...with time.

Please, pray for him.

Viki

What is wrong with him is, he was starved by his previous owners.

Then he is blessed to have found you, someone to take care of him the way God intended..

It really steams me when people let an animal starve! How about they turn it around and find someone to meet their needs BEFORE they are a rack of bones...

Oh dear GOD! I just rescued back a biggie mare that I sold 3 years ago. I just picked her up Sunday. What a MESS! If you need any more help or ideas for your boy, you could contact the Chances rescue as they have tons of experience in dealing with this kind of thing. I'm so glad you got him back. Best of luck getting his health back. Please keep us posted.....

Prayers for your colt,
default_pray.gif
default_pray.gif
default_pray.gif

Joyce

When I first read this.. I thought he was a preemie born... Didn't really pay attention to the 50lbs... but then I got to thinking about you other posts...